Native Art in History Today

Many thanks to Rhys Griffiths and History Today for its article on “Native America’s Post-war History in Ten Works of Art.” I feel privileged that four of my suggestions were included in the list of ten.

Rhys contacted me in February about his upcoming feature which would be a “primer of 20th century Native American history, as seen through its cultural artefacts…[through] a chronological list of 10 works of art (paintings, records, books, films, etc.).” I submitted four artworks that I consider to be seminal works on multiple levels (subject matter, style, medium, public response, etc.). I guess he agreed with all of my suggestions! History Today is a monthly magazine based in London whose aim is “to bring serious history to a wide audience.”

I hope people in England and elsewhere learn more about Native expressive arts.

 

Leave a Reply

